Skip to content

Updates and Forthcoming Papers

September 21, 2012

I am currently working on the writing up of my thesis. Six years of research has rewarded me with a wealth of material for inclusion in the thesis. The thesis is an analysis of rural communities in the mid-nineteenth century, against the theoretical context of the work of D.R. Mills. I am therefore re-evaluating the role of landownership and landowners, using six case study villages in the Doncaster area, and examining these agricultural communities from various different standpoints.

Additionally, I am preparing and revising a paper I have had accepted on the different spheres of influence that shaped the rural landscape in the mid nineteenth century  for the forthcoming ‘Uses and Abuses of the Landscape’ conference at Leicester. This is based around my doctoral research, and develops some of the conceptual theories I propose.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment